Description of the Board

The Office of Emergency Management Services reports to the South Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners through the Township Manager and provides assistance to South Whitehall Township staff (Administrative, Police, Fire and Public Works). It develops and maintains comprehensive disaster preparedness and assistance plans and programs that address relevant hazards. These plans are culminated in the Township’s Emergency Operating Plan, which outlines how the Township coordinates with other local, county, state and federal agencies in the event of an emergency, ranging from a hazardous material spill to a natural disaster to a terrorist incident. In the event of a disaster, the overall responsibility for decision making within South Whitehall Township rests with the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners may declare a local emergency upon finding a disaster has occurred or is imminent. When a local emergency is declared, the Office of Emergency Management along with Township personnel and representatives from the township emergency first responder organizations operate an Emergency Operations Center to coordinate the management of community-wide resources (police, public works, fire, EMS, food, shelters, Parkland school district etc.) with various local, county, state and federal agencies to appropriately respond to an emergency event. The protection of health, safety and welfare of our residents is paramount.

The following are examples of EOC staff activities:

  • Requesting mutual aid resources
  • Locating requested resources and directing them to the proper place
  • Managing a wide-scale evacuation
  • Establishing shelters and coordinating social services
  • Coordinating Communications with the community
  • Transmitting information over the Emergency Alert System
  • Resolving policy issues

The Office of Emergency Management has compiled public safety information to assist its citizens in the education, preparedness and readiness for an emergency situation.

The members of the Team include:

Emergency Management Team Members

  • Jeff Kelly | Coordinator
  • Renee Bickel | Township Manager
  • Herb Bender | Public Works Deputy
  • Glen Dorney | Police/Security Deputy
  • Matt Bertsch | Deputy Coordinator
  • Rusty Held | Fire/Rescue Deputy
  • Lori Seier | Mass Care Deputy, Parkland School District
  • Chris Kelly | Communications Officer & Deputy Coordinator
  • Erika Wolf | American Red Cross
  • Andrew Garger | Greenawalds Fire Chief
  • Barry Search | Woodlawn Fire Chief
  • Jay Heicklen | Cetronia Fire Chief
  • Brian Neas | Tri-Clover Fire Chief
  • John Frantz | Fire Marshal & Deputy Coordinator
  • David Keppel | Parkland School District
  • Anthony Naradko | Parkland School District EMA
  • Diane Kelly | Disaster Recovery & Long Range Planning
  • Sandi Herman | Planning Deputy
  • Chris Kiskeravage | Fire Commissioner
  • Luis Perez | Dorney Park Patrol Chief
  • Ryan Hay | Lehigh Valley Health Network EM
  • Tom Sparling | Coordinated Health EM
  • Rob Smith | St. Lukes University Health Network EM
  • Donna Zackeru | Resources/Supplies Deputy
  • Robert Mateff | Medical/Mortuary Deputy & Cetronia Ambulance Representative
  • David Bond | Logistics Deputy

Meeting Schedule

All meetings are open to the public.